Surabaya is the capital of Jawa Timur (East Java), located on northeastern Java island and along the edge of the Madura Strait and the second-largest-city in Indonesia. At the 2010 census, the city had a population over 2.8 million and an ‘extended metropolitan area’, with more than 9 million inhabitants in several cities and approximately 50 districts spread over non-contigous urban areas including Gresik, Sidoarjo, Mojokerto and Pasuruan regencies, and locally known as Gerbangkertosusila. The national government recognizes only the continuous core metropolitan area (Surabaya, Gresik and Sidarjo) as Greater Surabaya (Zona Surabaya Raya) with a population of 6,484,2060 (2010), making Surabaya now the third largest metropolitan area in Indonesia, after Greater Jakarta and Greater Bandung.

The city is known as Kota Pahlawan “city of heroes” due to the importance of the Battle of Surabaya in galvanizing Indonesian and international support for Indonesian independence during the Indonesian National Revolution. Surabaya was once the largest city in Dutch East Indies and virtually the center of trading in the nation, exceeding those of Batavia, competing with the likes of Singapore and Hong Kong.

There are so many tourist destination on Surabaya. Such as:
1. Surabaya Zoo
2. Zheng he Mosque
3. Bungkul Park
4. Jalesveva Jayamahe Monument
5. Submarine Monument (Monkasel)
6. Tomb of Sunan Ampel
7. Hero Monument
8. etc

Airlangga University

Airlangga University or locally known as Universitas Airlangga (UNAIR or UA) is the second-oldest university in Indonesia. Located in Surabaya, East Java, it was established in 1948 as a distant branch of the University of Indonesia, with roots dating back to 1913. It started with a medical school and school of dentistry. Now Universitas Airlangga hosts 15 faculties with more than 25,000 students (during the 2009–2010 academic year) and 1,570 faculty members. Universitas Airlangga has university hospitals for the faculties of Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, and Dentistry, as well as a tropical infection hospital for the Institute of Tropical Disease. The university is equipped with biosafety level three facilities.

Consistently ranked highly in major world university rankings, Universitas Airlangga have long been considered as one of the “Big 5” university in Indonesia, along with University of Indonesia, Bandung Institute of Technology, Bogor Agricultural University, and Gadjah Mada University.

There are 15 faculties in Universitas Airlangga (include 1 postgraduate school) and 127 study programs offered:[8]

1. Faculty of Medicine
2. Faculty of Dentistry
3. Faculty of Law
4. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
5. Faculty of Economics and Business
6. Faculty of Pharmacy
7. Faculty of Social and Political Sciences
8. Faculty of Science and Technology
9. Faculty of Psychology
10. Faculty of Public Health
11. Faculty of Humanities
12. Faculty of Marine and Fishery
13. Faculty of Nursing
14. Faculty of Vocational
15. Postgraduate School